Cordless vs Corded Circular Saw: Which Is Better?

Cordless vs corded circular saw: compare RPM, weight, cut depth and runtime from manufacturer specs to decide which wins for framing, ripping, and shop work.

Verified 2026-10-22 Published 2026-10-22

For most buyers who already own a major battery platform, a flagship cordless 7-1/4 inch circular saw is the better default in 2026, because top models now match or exceed corded no-load RPM while removing cord management from the cut. Corded remains the better choice for sustained ripping, stationary shop work, and anyone who wants one saw to last decades without battery replacement. The deciding variables are runtime under load, total weight with the battery the saw actually needs, and whether you already paid for that battery system.

How PowerToolBench evaluates tools is documented on the methodology page. Platform context appears in the M18 FUEL vs FLEXVOLT comparison, the M18 battery compatibility guide, and the DEWALT FLEXVOLT battery compatibility guide.

The spec comparison that matters

All saws below use a 7-1/4 inch blade. That common size isolates the power source as the variable. Differences in depth, bevel, and weight are therefore attributable to motor, housing, and battery rather than blade diameter.

Cordless flagships and mid-range

ModelPowerNo-load RPMDepth at 90°BevelWeight
Makita XSH06PT36V (18V X2) LXT, brushless, 2x 5.0Ah6,0002-5/8 in56°10.5 lb with batteries
Milwaukee M18 FUEL 273218V, POWERSTATE brushless5,8002-9/16 in listed, 2-1/2 in in other listings50°12.6 lb with 12.0Ah battery, secondary listings
DEWALT DCS57860V MAX FLEXVOLT, brushless5,8002-9/16 in57°Not stated in sources for this run
DEWALT DCS57020V MAX XR, brushless5,2002-9/16 in57°8.16 lb bare, 11.04 lb with 9Ah FLEXVOLT
Ryobi P50818V ONE+, brushless3,8002-7/16 in56°6.6 lb bare

Per Makita’s manufacturer page, the XSH06PT runs at 6,000 RPM, cuts 2-5/8 inches at 90 degrees and 1-13/16 inches at 45 degrees, bevels to 56 degrees, and weighs 10.5 lb with two 18V LXT 5.0Ah batteries fitted (Source: Makita XSH06PT, verified 2026-10-22). That RPM figure is the highest in the entire set, corded included.

Milwaukee’s position is explicit. Manufacturer copy reproduced by a retailer states the M18 FUEL 2732 generates 15A corded power, cuts faster than a 15A corded saw, runs at 5,800 RPM, and makes up to 750 cuts per charge with an M18 REDLITHIUM HIGH OUTPUT HD12.0 battery (Source: Do It Best listing for 2732 kit, verified 2026-10-22). One discrepancy requires flagging. Cut depth at 90 degrees appears as 2-9/16 inches in one spec list and 2-1/2 inches in other listings for the same saw, so buyers should confirm the figure on the box for the exact kit under consideration.

DEWALT splits its cordless line by voltage. The DCS570 at 20V MAX XR is listed at 5,200 RPM with 2-9/16 inches of depth at 90 degrees in a secondary review spec list, matching the corded DWE575 on both RPM and depth (Source: Pro Tool Reviews DCS570 review, verified 2026-10-22 via source log). The FLEXVOLT DCS578 at 60V MAX is listed at 5,800 RPM and 2-9/16 inches at 90 degrees, and DEWALT’s UK manufacturer page claims up to 47% more power when used with a 9Ah battery than the earlier DCS575, under controlled conditions as a peak power comparison (Source: DEWALT DCS578, verified 2026-10-22). A secondary listing puts the DCS578 at 2,456 unit watts out. That figure is useful for relative ranking within DEWALT’s line. It should not be compared directly to corded max watts out without a shared test protocol.

The rear-handle FLEXVOLT DCS577 illustrates a different tradeoff. It is listed at 5,800 RPM, 2-7/16 inches at 90 degrees, and a measured 13 lb 11.8 oz with blade and 9Ah battery in a secondary review (Source: Pro Tool Reviews DCS577 review, verified 2026-10-22 via source log). Torque and sightline suit framing crews. Weight rules it out as a casual homeowner pick.

Corded benchmarks

ModelPowerNo-load RPMDepth at 90°BevelWeight
DEWALT DWE575SB15A, brushed5,2002-9/16 in57°8.8 lb
Makita 5007F15A5,8002-3/8 in45°11.1 lb
Bosch CS1015A5,6002-7/16 in56°10.2 lb

Per a retailer spec listing, the DEWALT DWE575SB is a 15A corded saw at 5,200 RPM, 8.8 lb, with 57 degrees of bevel capacity, stops at 22.5 and 45 degrees, 1,950 max watts out, a 10 ft cord, and 2-9/16 inches of depth at 90 degrees (Source: Stine Home listing for DWE575SB, verified 2026-10-22). Depth at 45 degrees appears as 2 inches in that listing and 1.9 inches in a review spec list. Either value clears a 2x board on a bevel.

Per Makita manual specs reproduced by iFixit, the 5007F is a 15A corded saw at 5,800 RPM, 2,000 watts out, 11.1 lb, with 2-3/8 inches at 90 degrees, 1-3/4 inches at 45 degrees, 45 degrees of bevel capacity, and an 8.2 ft cord (Source: iFixit Makita 5007F, verified 2026-10-22). Its RPM equals the Milwaukee and FLEXVOLT flagships. Its bevel ceiling is the lowest in the set.

The Bosch CS10, included from a secondary spec source, is listed at 15A, 5,600 RPM, 10.2 lb, 2-7/16 inches at 90 degrees, 1-7/8 inches at 45 degrees, and 56 degrees of bevel (Source: EngineerFix CS10 spec summary, verified 2026-10-22 via source log). It sits between the two other corded models on most figures and changes no conclusion.

Read together, the tables undermine a simple power story. Cordless flagships lead on headline RPM. Corded leads on the lightest complete weight, continuous power delivery, and purchase simplicity. Neither side sweeps the sheet.

Runtime: the cordless constraint, quantified

Runtime claims require material context. A cross-cut in 2x4 SPF is a short, low-load event. A rip in 2x10 or LVL is not.

Makita claims up to 610 cross-cuts per charge in 2x4 SPF and up to 320 cross-cuts in 2x10 SPF for the XSH06PT, using two fully charged 5.0Ah batteries, per internal testing reported on the manufacturer page (Source: Makita XSH06PT, verified 2026-10-22). The drop from 610 to 320 as stock widens is the informative part. Load roughly halves the count.

Milwaukee claims up to 750 cuts per charge for the 2732 with the 12.0Ah HIGH OUTPUT battery, per manufacturer copy reproduced by a retailer (Source: Do It Best listing for 2732 kit, verified 2026-10-22). The claim does not specify identical lumber in the excerpt available for this run. Direct comparison to Makita’s 610 figure is therefore not valid without matching material, blade, and cut type.

A corded saw has no equivalent ceiling. Its limit is outlet access and cord length, listed at 10 ft for the DWE575SB and 8.2 ft for the 5007F in the sources above, plus whatever extension cord the site allows. For a stationary cutting station, that limit rarely binds. For roof work, remote framing, or a long driveway cut, it binds immediately.

Battery size also changes the cordless calculation in a way spec sheets understate. A DCS570 weighs 9.52 lb with a 4Ah battery and 11.04 lb with a 9Ah FLEXVOLT battery in secondary listings (Source: Pro Tool Reviews DCS570 review, verified 2026-10-22 via source log). The larger pack buys runtime. It also erases much of the handling difference buyers expect from cordless. Platform guidance in the DEWALT 20V MAX vs 60V FLEXVOLT guide covers that weight ladder in detail.

Myth vs fact

Myth: Cordless saws are still underpowered toys

Fact: Flagship data refute the blanket version. The XSH06PT at 6,000 RPM exceeds every corded model in this set on no-load speed (Source: Makita XSH06PT, verified 2026-10-22). Milwaukee explicitly claims 15A corded power for the 2732 (Source: Do It Best listing, verified 2026-10-22). The budget tier is where the myth retains force, as the Ryobi section below shows.

Myth: Higher RPM always means a faster cut

Fact: RPM is a no-load figure. Feed rate in thick or wet lumber depends on torque under load, blade, and thermal behavior, none of which a single RPM number captures. A forum commenter summarized the field experience plainly: “The power gap between corded and battery power has really narrowed since the early days of cordless tools. Lately, about the only thing I remember a battery being short on power was tough cuts with a circular saw but many corded ones would have had a hard time doing it too” (Source: BudgetLightForum thread, verified 2026-10-22 via source log). Treat RPM as a screening metric. Do not treat it as a cut-time guarantee.

Myth: Cordless is always lighter and easier to handle

Fact: The lightest complete saw in this comparison is corded. At 8.8 lb, the DWE575SB undercuts the XSH06PT at 10.5 lb with batteries and the Milwaukee combination at 12.6 lb with a 12.0Ah battery (Sources: retailer and manufacturer listings above, verified 2026-10-22). Cordless removes cord drag and trip risk. That benefit is real. It arrives with a weight cost that matters overhead and on ladders.

The clear loser: budget cordless for heavy work

The Ryobi P508 clarifies the lower bound. Secondary review data list it as an 18V ONE+ brushless saw at 3,800 RPM, 2-7/16 inches at 90 degrees, 1-13/16 inches at 45 degrees, 56 degrees of bevel, and 6.6 lb bare, with a historical bare price of $119 in that review (Source: One Project Closer P508 review, verified 2026-10-22 via source log). Secondary reviews also note that a high-capacity battery is required to avoid bogging.

That is a 2,000 RPM deficit against the 5,800 RPM corded Makita 5007F. For plywood, 2x cross-cuts, and occasional use, the deficit may never appear. For repeated rips in thick stock, it will. The contrarian conclusion follows. A buyer choosing between a budget cordless saw for heavy ripping and a mid-priced corded saw for the same work should buy the corded saw. The corded tool costs less as a complete system once a large battery is priced in, and it sustains power the budget cordless platform cannot match in this spec set.

This verdict does not condemn the P508 for its intended segment. Light weight and low bare price suit light work. The failure mode is misapplication, where marketing around brushless motors implies flagship performance the RPM figure contradicts.

Browse cordless circular saws at Rockler (affiliate link)

Longevity and total cost

Corded saws age slowly. There is no battery chemistry to degrade and no platform discontinuation risk for the power source.

Owner accounts quoted in secondary analyses reinforce the pattern. One r/Carpentry user quoted in a corded vs cordless analysis stated: “I’ve had my corded circular saw for over 15 years, and it still works like a charm. My cordless tools are great, but I know I’ll need to replace the batteries eventually” (Source: secondary analysis quoting r/Carpentry, verified 2026-10-22 via source log). A Garage Journal user reported: “If I were going to have only one circular saw, it would be the corded tilt-lok Milwaukee 15 amp saw. I’ve had mine for 25 years now, and it still runs like new” (Source: Garage Journal thread, verified 2026-10-22 via source log).

The same Garage Journal thread contains the balanced position many owners land on: “Cordless is nice if you already have the battery platform, and I do have a cordless circular saw, but I will never be without a corded one for use at home” (Source: Garage Journal thread, verified 2026-10-22 via source log). That is a two-saw answer. It is also the most expensive answer, which is why the decision framework below forces a primary use case.

Cordless total cost depends on entry point. A buyer inside a platform pays bare-tool price plus, often, one high-capacity battery. A buyer outside every platform pays kit price and enters an ecosystem whose future batteries, chargers, and tool compatibility shape every later purchase. Ohio Power Tool’s Milwaukee M18 FUEL circular saw category, used as retailer verification context for this run, lists bevel figures in the 50 to 56 degree range across the category, consistent with the model-level data above (Source: Ohio Power Tool category, verified 2026-10-22).

Convenience has a measurable constituency as well. An r/Tools user quoted in the same secondary analysis stated: “Yes, cordless tools are more expensive, but the freedom and ease they provide are worth every penny. Plus, I can often find deals on spare batteries” (Source: secondary analysis quoting r/Tools, verified 2026-10-22 via source log). Price sensitivity and mobility needs pull in opposite directions. Neither quote settles the choice alone.

Decision framework

Choose cordless flagship if three conditions hold. First, you already own or plan to buy into M18, FLEXVOLT, or LXT with high-capacity packs. Second, a meaningful share of cuts occur away from a fixed outlet or overhead, where cord routing costs time or creates a hazard. Third, your heaviest regular work is framing lumber and sheet goods rather than continuous production ripping. If you are already set on framing and just need the model pick, the best cordless circular saw for framing 2026 guide ranks the rear-handle flagships against the same specs.

Choose corded if any one condition dominates. Work happens at a bench or cutting station. Sessions involve long, repeated rips where charge swaps would interrupt flow. Budget must cover the complete system in one purchase with no battery upsell. Or the saw is intended as a single, long-horizon purchase, in which case the 15 to 25 year owner reports above deserve weight.

Choose budget cordless only with eyes open. It suits light, intermittent work and buyers already holding large ONE+ packs. It loses, decisively, as a heavy-ripping substitute for a 15A corded saw.

A second affiliate option exists for readers comparing complete kits rather than bare tools.

Browse circular saws at Rockler (affiliate link)

FAQ

Is a cordless circular saw as powerful as a corded saw?

Flagship models meet or exceed corded no-load RPM on paper. Makita lists the cordless XSH06PT at 6,000 RPM and Milwaukee claims 15A corded power for the M18 FUEL 2732 at 5,800 RPM, while the corded DEWALT DWE575SB is listed at 5,200 RPM (Sources verified 2026-10-22). Sustained power under heavy load still depends on battery size and heat, so RPM parity alone does not settle a long rip cut.

How many cuts does a cordless circular saw make per charge?

Manufacturer claims vary by material and battery. Makita claims up to 610 cross-cuts in 2x4 SPF per charge for the XSH06PT using two 5.0Ah batteries, and Milwaukee claims up to 750 cuts per charge for the M18 FUEL 2732 with a 12.0Ah battery (Sources verified 2026-10-22). Both figures come from controlled manufacturer testing in specific lumber.

Which is lighter, cordless or corded?

Corded holds the low mark in this set. The DEWALT DWE575SB is listed at 8.8 lb, while the Makita XSH06PT weighs 10.5 lb with batteries and a Milwaukee M18 FUEL saw with a 12.0Ah battery reaches 12.6 lb in secondary listings (Sources verified 2026-10-22).

Should I buy cordless if I already own batteries?

Usually yes for occasional and mid-duty work. If you already own high-capacity packs on Milwaukee M18, DEWALT FLEXVOLT, or Makita LXT, the bare-tool cost drops and runtime is already paid for. If you own only compact 2.0Ah packs, budget for a larger battery.

When does corded still win?

Corded wins for sustained ripping, stationary shop use near an outlet, and single-saw ownership over a long horizon. A 15A corded saw delivers continuous power without charge cycles or battery replacement cost, and owners quoted in forum threads report corded saws still running after 15 to 25 years.

Are budget cordless circular saws worth it?

For light sheet goods and occasional cross-cuts, yes. For heavy ripping, the spec gap is material. The Ryobi P508 is listed at 3,800 RPM in secondary reviews, a full 2,000 RPM below 5,800 RPM corded benchmarks such as the Makita 5007F (Sources verified 2026-10-22).

Can one saw cover both framing and finish work?

A 7-1/4 inch saw in either power type covers most framing and sheet work because cut depth at 90 degrees clusters between 2-3/8 and 2-5/8 inches across the models compared here (Sources verified 2026-10-22). Check bevel capacity and depth at 45 degrees for your actual work, since those figures range from 45 to 57 degrees in this set.

Limitations and testing disclosure

This guide synthesizes manufacturer product pages, retailer spec listings, manuals reproduced by third parties, and secondary reviews. PowerToolBench does not physically test units in-house, and no physical measurement was performed for this article. Figures are manufacturer-rated or retailer-listed as cited inline with a verified date of 2026-10-22.

Several limitations affect interpretation. Runtime claims use different lumber, batteries, and test protocols across brands, so cross-brand cut counts are not directly comparable. The Milwaukee 2732 cut depth figure conflicts across listings at 2-9/16 versus 2-1/2 inches, and the DWE575 depth at 45 degrees conflicts at 2 versus 1.9 inches, as flagged in the body. Unit watts out, max watts out, and peak power percentages come from different brand systems and should not be ranked as if measured on one bench. Prices were not treated as load-bearing for the verdict because only secondary historical or kit prices were available for some models in this run. Forum quotes are drawn from quoting sources and threads listed in the source log, not from a controlled owner survey, and they illustrate reported experience rather than failure-rate data.

Authorship is by PowerToolBench as an organization. Corrections are logged publicly and specifications are re-verified against manufacturer pages on the cadence described in the methodology page.

Frequently asked questions

Is a cordless circular saw as powerful as a corded saw?
Flagship models meet or exceed corded no-load RPM on paper. Makita lists the cordless XSH06PT at 6,000 RPM and Milwaukee claims 15A corded power for the M18 FUEL 2732 at 5,800 RPM, while the corded DEWALT DWE575SB is listed at 5,200 RPM (Sources verified 2026-10-22). Sustained power under heavy load still depends on battery size and heat, so RPM parity alone does not settle a long rip cut.
How many cuts does a cordless circular saw make per charge?
Manufacturer claims vary by material and battery. Makita claims up to 610 cross-cuts in 2x4 SPF per charge for the XSH06PT using two 5.0Ah batteries, and Milwaukee claims up to 750 cuts per charge for the M18 FUEL 2732 with a 12.0Ah battery (Sources verified 2026-10-22). Both figures come from controlled manufacturer testing in specific lumber, not mixed jobsite work.
Which is lighter, cordless or corded?
Corded holds the low mark in this set. The DEWALT DWE575SB is listed at 8.8 lb, while the Makita XSH06PT weighs 10.5 lb with batteries and a Milwaukee M18 FUEL saw with a 12.0Ah battery reaches 12.6 lb in secondary listings (Sources verified 2026-10-22). A cordless bare tool can look light until the battery required for full power is added.
Should I buy cordless if I already own batteries?
Usually yes for occasional and mid-duty work. If you already own high-capacity packs on Milwaukee M18, DEWALT FLEXVOLT, or Makita LXT, the bare-tool cost drops and runtime is already paid for. If you own only compact 2.0Ah packs, budget for a larger battery, because circular saws are high-draw tools that expose small packs quickly.
When does corded still win?
Corded wins for sustained ripping, stationary shop use near an outlet, and single-saw ownership over a long horizon. A 15A corded saw delivers continuous power without charge cycles or battery replacement cost, and owners quoted in forum threads report corded saws still running after 15 to 25 years.
Are budget cordless circular saws worth it?
For light sheet goods and occasional cross-cuts, yes. For heavy ripping, the spec gap is material. The Ryobi P508 is listed at 3,800 RPM in secondary reviews, a full 2,000 RPM below 5,800 RPM corded benchmarks such as the Makita 5007F (Sources verified 2026-10-22). That deficit shows up as slower feed and more bogging in thick stock.
Can one saw cover both framing and finish work?
A 7-1/4 inch saw in either power type covers most framing and sheet work because cut depth at 90 degrees clusters between 2-3/8 and 2-5/8 inches across the models compared here (Sources verified 2026-10-22). Check bevel capacity and depth at 45 degrees for your actual work, since those figures range from 45 to 57 degrees and from 1-3/4 to 2 inches in this set.

Related comparisons & guides